Our Board & Staff

Sakonnet Preservation Association is governed by a 15 member Board of Directors.  Our Board is an engaged and hard-working group representing the Little Compton Community.  Joy Elvin serves as our part-time Director of Operations and Rae Lipton as our part-time Administrative Assistant.

Board Members in the NEWS…

A Legacy of Leadership and Land Preservation – Members bid fond farewell as Heather Steers retires from Sakonnet Preservation Board (Sakonnet Times 7/19/2018).
On July 10th, Heather Steers retired from the board…she shaped for 27 years…At its annual meeting this year, more than 130 attendees laughed and applauded as Ms. Brooks led a group honoring Heather’s accomplishments.  Heather’s gift to both the conservation community and her home town is a legacy of land protection and stewardship practice of the highest quality.

Peter Merritt Award winners:  Sheila Mackintosh (2017), Heather Steers (2012), and Larry Anderson (2007)

Earlier in 2017, Sheila Mackintosh became the 3rd Sakonnet Preservation board member to be honored with the Rhode Island Land Trust Council’s Peter Merritt Award in the 16 year history of the award.  This award honors those who have demonstrated a hands-on commitment to conservation, and Sheila joins an impressive group.  Larry, Heather, and Sheila came to Sakonnet Preservation from different backgrounds and with different degrees of knowledge of conservation, but all share the same passion for Little Compton and all have made vitally important contributions to it.



Abigail Brooks, President
Sheila Mackintosh, Vice President
Bill Theriault, Treasurer
Ann Beardsley, Secretary


Paul Bazzoni
Michal Brownell
John Cook
Davy Cutts
Phil Goodnow
Nan Haffenreffer
Maureen Harrington
Warren Jagger
Geoff Manning
Judy Melanson
David Palumb
Peter Rowley
Charlie Whipple

Director of Operations
Joy Elvin