Affiliations Board & Staff


SPA is a member of the Land Trust Alliance (LTA), (, the national umbrella conservation organization with over 1700 land trust members from around the country. The LTA sets standards for best practices in land conservation.

SPA is also a member of the Rhode Island Land Trust Council (RILTC) (

In its conservation work, SPA actively collaborates with other conservation organizations that include the following:



Sakonnet Preservation Association is governed by a 16 member Board of Directors.  Our Board is an engaged and hard-working group representing the Little Compton Community.


Abigail Brooks, President
Sheila Mackintosh, Vice President
Bill Theriault, Treasurer
Jack Angell, Secretary


Ann Beardsely
Michal Brownell
John Cook
Craig Curtis
Nan Haffenreffer
Warren Jagger
Judy Melanson
Don McNaughton
Priscilla Nellissen
David Palumb
Heather Steers
Charlie Whipple

Stewardship Director
Mary-Kate Kane
Director of Development & Communications
Kathy Klees Clarendon
Administrative Assistant
Holly K. Lippert